The Story County Human Services Council is a membership-based council of non-profit organizations, for-profit businesses, and individuals within Story County who work to establish an environment which energizes members and provide opportunities for collaborative efforts and advocacy for human needs.

The council encourages new organizations and members to attend our monthly meetings to improve our collaborative efforts and better serve the Story County community.

2018-19 Membership Registration Form

2017-18 Story County Human Services Council Members

Click on the agency name to link to their website. Click on the agency representative to contact them using your email.



ACPC Kinzie Ludwig, Allison Brennan
BooSt  Marion Kresse
Boys & Girls Club of Story County Kaitlin Binnebose  (SCHSC TREASURER)
CareMore Stephanie Hoskins, Terri Walker
Central Iowa Center for Independent Living Tanya Ferguson, Reyma McCoy Madrid
Central Iowa RSVP Kalen Petersen, Lori Wilson
ChildServe Rachelle Flory
Community & Family Resources
Community Support Advocates Melissa Ahrens
CyRide/Ames Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Shari Atwood (SCHSC C0-Chair)
DMACC- Ames Adult Education and Literacy Program Anneke Mundel
Drake University Head Start Cassandra Clyde
Emergency Residence Project Carrie Dunnwald
Eyerly Ball Community Health Mental Services
Friendship Ark Jennifer Ellis, Diane Bjorklund
Heartland Senior Services Nancy CarrollShala Harsh
HIRTA Public Transit Julia Castillo, Brooke Ramsey,
Sarah ConstableGreg Stassen
ISU Extension & Outreach – Story County Alison BoelmanNicole LeidalMary Wilkins, Katelyn Blake
Legal Aid Society of Story County Melissa Murray (SCHSC C0-Chair)
Lutheran Services in Iowa Mallory Herndon
Mainstream Living Richard Sharp
Iowa State University Kyle Briese
Mid-Iowa Community Action Megan Thompson
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) of Central Iowa Lisa Heddens
Primary Health Care Miguel Biott, Linda Hanson
Story County Community Services Nikki Sprecher
Story County Sheriff’s Office Paul Fitzgerald
The Arc of Story County Tricia Crain
The Salvation Army Cari McPartland
United Way of Story County
University Community Childcare Penny Pepper
Volunteer Center of Story County Anne Owens  (SCHSC SECRETARY)
YSS Belinda Meis